DyAFor - Dynamics and community assembly of tropical forests

Keywords
Community ecology
Functional ecology
Forest dynamics

Our main objective is to improve our understanding of tree community dynamics and assembly in tropical forests, in order to predict their potential future under different global change scenarios.

Using a diversity of tools from different fields (e.g. ecophysiology, genomics, remote sensing, modelling) in various environmental and anthropogenic contexts across the tropics, we provide evidence-based knowledge on the mechanisms that shape the temporal and spatial variability of the diversity, structure, and functioning of tropical forests.
To this end, we use three complementary approaches: i) the implementation of experiments that allow to empirically control variables or processes of interest in order to understand their effects; ii) the collection of field observations to document existing patterns and inform their underlying processes using statistical frameworks; iii) the development of models to assimilate various data and evaluate empirical knowledge on processes and their interactions. The integration of these three mutually-informative approaches allows to identify the spatial and temporal scales at which ecological and evolutionary processes act and interact in shaping the dynamics and assembly of tropical forests, and improve our ability to predict the fate of tropical forests with increasing anthropogenic pressure and climate stress. Our work focuses mainly on plants, but can also integrate other trophic levels (e.g. herbivores and micro-organisms) that play a key role in certain processes, such as the maintenance of local diversity through negative density dependence, or carbon and nutrient fluxes through decomposition.

Our multidisciplinary team develops research projects in South America (French Guiana, Peru and Ecuador), Central Africa (Cameroon, Gabon, Congo, Sao Tome and Principe, and DR Congo), Asia (India and Thailand) and the Pacific (New Caledonia and Pacific islands), thus opening up perspectives for regional syntheses and intercontinental comparisons across the tropics. In each of these projects, we rely in particular on networks of permanent forest plots et up and monitored by ourselves and our collaborators in French Guiana (Guyadiv), Central Africa (Africadiv) and New Caledonia (NC-PIPPN). These networks represent c. 850 plots of 100 m2 up to 1 ha and c. 200,000 inventoried trees. We also leverage data from large international networks, such as the Amazon Tree Diversity Network or ForestGeo. Some projects benefit from collaborative research infrastructures, such as LabEx CEBA in French Guiana, LMI BioInca in Ecuador and Colombia, or LMI DYCOFAC in Central Africa. Our group regularly goes in the field on short trips or long stays (e.g. expats), thus ensuring the long-term maintenance of field set-ups and local collaborative networks

Acronym Title Duration
ADMIREPartenariat pour l’Analyse des DynaMIques de REforestation et de la résilience forestière (ADMIRE)
Project PI: Philippe BIRNBAUM 
2021 - 2024
AFRIFIREDéterminants et impacts du régime des feux en Afrique tropicale
Project PI: Charly FAVIER (ISEM)  / Maxime REJOU-MECHAIN 
2021 - 2022
DeepRootInto the deep: exploring root distribution and function in tropical forests.
Project PI: Claire FORTUNEL / Isabelle MARECHAUX 
2019 - 2021
DESSFORDegraded Stable States in Tropical Forests
Project PI: Maxime REJOU-MECHAIN 
2021 - 2024
DREAMDrought recovery mechanisms in a tropical forest
Project PI: Megan BARTLETT (University of California Davis)  
2019 - 2021
ELFRole of local evolutionary history on tropical forest diversity and functioning
Project PI: Imma OLIVERAS (University of Oxford)  / Claire FORTUNEL 
2021 - 2022
INTRACOUnravelling the role of intraspecific variability in tree species coexistence in tropical forest
Project PI: Ghislain VIEILLEDENT / Isabelle MARECHAUX 
2020 - 2022
ISLETSIsland leaf economics trait synthesis
Project PI: Kasey BARTON (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa)  / Claire FORTUNEL 
2021 - 2022
Leaf and wood dimensionsLeaf and wood dimensions: Understanding topical forest diversity by integrating data and mechanistic models
Project PI: Claire FORTUNEL / Caroline FARRIOR (UTA)  
2019 - 2021
ManagForResEffet de la gestion forestière sur la réponse des écosystèmes forestiers guyanais aux changements climatiques
Project PI: Géraldine DERROIRE (CIRAD, ECOFOG)  
2020 - 2022
METRADICAMechanistic traits to predict shifts in tree species abundance and distribution with climate change in the Amazonian forest
Project PI: Ghislain VIEILLEDENT / Clément STAHL (INRAE, ECOFOG)  
2020 - 2022
PEPINOHistorical genomics of long-term PEople-Palm Interactions in the NeotrOpics
Project PI: Louise BROUSSEAU / Guillaume ODONNE (CNRS, UMSR LEEISA)  
2019 - 2021
PhenobsTowards a phenology observatory in French Guiana to study climate-vegetation feedbacks and the diversity of plant strategies
Project PI: Nicolas BARBIER 
2020 - 2022
ReliquesFragmentation des forets sur substrats ultramafiques en Nouvelle Calédonie
Project PI: Philippe BIRNBAUM / Nicolas BARBIER 
2019 - 2022
SynTreeSysSynthesis of Neotropical Tree Biodiversity with Plot Inventories
Project PI: Jérôme CHAVE (EDB, Toulouse)  / Adriane ESQUIVEL MUELBERT (University of Birmingham (UK))  
2021 - 2024
Tall TreesA 3D perspective on the effects of topography and wind on forest height and dynamics
Project PI: David COOMES (Cambridge University)  
2019 - 2023
UnderstoryAn infrastructure to explore plant diversity of the Amazonian forest understory
Project PI: Géraldine DERROIRE (CIRAD, ECOFOG)  / Jérôme CHAVE (EDB, Toulouse)  
2020 - 2022

BADOURDINE Colette 2019 - 2022. Mapping tropical forest diversity from multi- and hyper-spectral imagery. Ecole doctorale : GAIA / Université de Montpellier. Dir : PELISSIER Raphaël / Co-dir. : VINCENT Grégoire

CLEMENT Jeanne 2021 - 2023. Prédire la vulnérabilité des espèces d’arbres au changement climatique en forêt Guyanaise via l’utilisation de modèles joints de distribution des espèces.". Ecole doctorale : GAIA / Université de Montpellier. Dir : COUTERON Pierre / Co-dir. : VIEILLEDENT Ghislain

EVOUNA ONDO Fidèle 2018 - 2023. Rôle du feu et l'écologie du sol dans l'évolution des savanes au Gabon. Ecole doctorale : GAIA / Université de Montpellier. Dir : COUTERON Pierre

GIRARD-TERCIEUX Camille 2019 - 2022. Rôle de la variabilité intraspécifique dans la coexistence des espèces de la forêt tropicale. Ecole doctorale : GAIA / Université de Montpellier. Dir : PELISSIER Raphaël

KACAMAK Asli Begum 2020 - 2023. Stratégies écologiques des lianes africaines en milieu stable et perturbé : des modèles bio-inspirants pour la robotique douce.. Ecole doctorale : GAIA / Université de Montpellier. Dir : ROWE Nicholas / Co-dir. : ROSSI Vivien

KREBBER Daniela 2019 - 2022. Comment la biodiversité influence-t-elle la réponse des forêts tropicales aux changements climatiques et aux perturbations anthropiques ?. Ecole doctorale : GAIA / Université de Guyane. Dir : MARCON Eric

DyAFor - Dynamique et Assemblage des Forêts Tropicales

Mots clés
Ecologie des communautés
Ecologie fonctionnelle
Dynamique forestière

Comprendre la dynamique et l’assemblage des communautés d’arbres des forêts tropicales, afin de prédire leur évolution sous différents scénarios de changement global.

En s’appuyant sur une diversité d’outils (e.g. écophysiologie, génomique, télédétection, modélisation) et des contextes environnementaux et anthropiques variés dans l’ensemble des tropiques, nos travaux permettent de comprendre les mécanismes qui contrôlent la variabilité dans le temps et l’espace de la diversité, la structure, et du fonctionnement des forêts tropicales.
Trois approches complémentaires sont mobilisées pour répondre à cet objectif: i) la mise en place d’expériences, qui visent à contrôler de manière empirique des variables ou processus d’intérêts pour en comprendre les effets; ii) la collecte d’observations de terrain, qui visent à extraire des informations sur les processus à l’aide d’outils statistiques ; iii) le développement de modèles, qui visent à reproduire les processus et leur interactions en s’appuyant sur nos connaissances actuelles. En intégrant ces trois grandes familles d’approches, nous contribuons à identifier les échelles spatiales et temporelles auxquelles les processus écologiques et évolutifs qui contrôlent la dynamique et l’assemblage des forêts tropicales agissent et interagissent. Nos travaux se focalisent principalement sur les plantes, mais peuvent intégrer aussi d’autres niveaux trophiques (e.g. herbivores et micro-organismes) ayant un rôle clé dans certains processus, tels que le maintien de la diversité locale par densité dépendance négative ou les flux de carbone et nutriments par décomposition. Le développement des connaissances ainsi générées contribue à améliorer notre capacité à prédire le devenir des forêts tropicales dans un contexte de pression anthropique et de stress climatique grandissants.

Nos travaux s’appuient sur plusieurs chantiers d’investigation à travers les régions tropicales, en Amérique du Sud (Guyane française, Pérou, Equateur), Afrique centrale (Cameroun, Gabon, Congo, Sao Tomé et République Démocratique du Congo), Asie (Inde et Thaïlande) et Pacifique (Nouvelle Calédonie), ouvrant ainsi des perspectives de synthèses régionales et de comparaisons intercontinentales. Dans chacun de ces chantiers, nous nous appuyons notamment sur des réseaux de parcelles permanentes de suivi forestier, installées et suivies par nous-même et nos collaborateurs, en Guyane (Guyadiv), en Afrique centrale (Africadiv) et en Nouvelle-Calédonie (NC-PIPPN). Ces réseaux représentent c. 850 parcelles de 100 m2 à 1 ha et c. 200 000 arbres inventoriés. Les données de grands réseaux internationaux, tels que l’Amazon Tree Diversity Network ou ForestGeo, sont également mobilisés pour certaines études. Certains chantiers bénéficient de dispositifs structurants de recherches, tels que le LabEx CEBA en Guyane française, le LMI BioInca en Equateur et en Colombie, ou le LMI DYCOFAC en Afrique centrale. Les participants de notre thème se rendent régulièrement sur le terrain en missions mais aussi en expatriations, assurant donc la pérennité des dispositifs de recherches et des collaborations locales.

Acronyme Intitulé Durée
ADMIREPartenariat pour l’Analyse des DynaMIques de REforestation et de la résilience forestière
Porteur : Philippe BIRNBAUM 
2021 - 2024
ALTAmazonian Landscapes in Transition
Porteur : Jérôme CHAVE (EDB, Toulouse)  
2022 - 2025
DESSFORDegraded Stable States in Tropical Forests
Porteur : Maxime REJOU-MECHAIN 
2021 - 2024
DOPAMICSDomestication and adaptation in Neotropical palms – a microevolutionary history
Porteur : Louise BROUSSEAU 
2022 - 2027
EDENEExtinction dynamics of endemic trees in exotic-dominated ecosystems
Porteur : Robin POUTEAU 
2023 - 2026
IFIHSAInventaires forestriers par imagerie hyperspectrale aéroportée
Porteur : Olivier BRUNAUX (ONF)  
2023 - 2024
ISLETSIsland Leaf Ecophysiological Trait Synthesis
Porteurs : Claire FORTUNEL / Kasey BARTON (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa)  
2023 - 2025
MELANOBSTowards a Melanesian observatory of forest response to global change
Porteur : Thomas IBANEZ 
2023 - 2025
PhenobsTowards a phenology observatory in French Guiana to study climate-vegetation feedbacks and the diversity of plant strategies
Porteur : Nicolas BARBIER 
2020 - 2024
SynTreeSysSynthesis of Neotropical Tree Biodiversity with Plot Inventories
Porteurs : Jérôme CHAVE (EDB, Toulouse)  / Adriane ESQUIVEL MUELBERT (University of Birmingham (UK))  
2021 - 2024

BADOUARD Vincyane 2022 - 2024. Déterminants de la distribution spatiale des arbres du sous-étage en forêts tropicales. Ecole doctorale : GAIA / Université de Montpellier. Dir : VINCENT Grégoire / Co-dir. : MARCON Eric

CATHELINEAU Paul 2023 - 2026. biomécanique des fibres de palmiers d’Amazonie. Ecole doctorale : Diversités, Santé et Développement en Amazonie - ED 587 / Université de Guyane. Dir : BOSSU Julie / Co-dir. : BROUSSEAU Louise

LOFT Andrew-Ty 2024 - 2026. Revealing the Political Drivers of Ecosystem Degradation in the Miombo Woodlands. Ecole doctorale : Université d'Oxford / Université d'Oxford. Dir : OLIVERAS MENOR Immaculada

PICARD Juliette 2021 - 2024. Dynamique spatio-temporelle des forêts à Marantacées d’Afrique centrale. Ecole doctorale : GAIA / Université de Montpellier. Dir : COUTERON Pierre

ROJAT Margaux 2023 - 2026. Interactions biotiques entre les plantes exotiques envahissantes et les arbres menacés endémiques des Mascareignes. Ecole doctorale : GAIA / Université de Montpellier. Dir : PELISSIER Raphaël