SYSTE - Systematics and biogeography of extant and fossil plants

Keywords
Taxonomy
Botany
Paléobotany
Evolution

Our work aims to inventory extant and fossil plant biodiversity, to understand the underlying processes at its origin, and to help preserve biodiversity in a global change perspective.

Our work consists in (i) documenting taxa characteristic of areas and time periods of high ecological or evolutionary interest, (ii) defining their morpho-anatomical and ecological characteristics, (iii) identifying their biogeographical origin, and (iv) researching the processes underlying current and past plant biodiversity. For extant floras, the main families studied are Amaryllidaceae, Asparagaceae, Eriocaulaceae, Lauraceae, Orchidaceae, Piperaceae, Poaceae, Rhizophoraceae, Rubiaceae, Sapindaceae, Sapotaceae, and Urticaceae. This work tries to have an integrative approach, combining morphology, anatomy, architecture, phenology, ecology, distribution, and to rely on methods of numerical taxonomy, molecular biology, and niche modelling. Knowledge of the ecology and distribution of taxa enables the prediction of future distributions in response to ongoing climate change. Work on fossil plants focuses both on pre-angiosperm floras during warm periods in Earth's history (Paleozoic and early Mesozoic) and on the origin of extant vegetation (Cenozoic), with a focus on poorly sampled geographical areas.

Our work benefits from research infrastructures such as the herbaria (notably CAY, NOU curated by AMAP), the palaeobotanical collection of the University of Montpellier, and AMAP's histology technical platform (extant & fossil). The main geographical sites are the Mediterranean region, South America, Central Africa, Kenya and Madagascar, and New Caledonia for the current floras; North Africa, Australia, Antarctica, and New Caledonia for the fossil floras. The work is based on the exploitation of pre-existing collections, field missions to acquire additional material (naturalist expeditions, fossil deposit excavations) or databases of species occurrences, possibly coming from citizen sciences (see for example Pl@ntNet).

Acronym Title Duration
ChroNickLe chrome et le nickel dans les sols de Nouvelle-Calédonie: Influence des forçages environnementaux et humains sur la biodisponibilité et la mobilité vers la ressource en eau
Project PI: Farid JUILLOT   
2019 - 2022
COMALO IILong-term conservation of the most threatened Malagasy orchids
Project PI: Vincent DROISSART 
2020 - 2022
DECAQuelles modalités de récupération post crise Dévonien-Carbonifère ?
Project PI: Anne-Laure DECOMBEIX 
2021 - 2023
ERMinesEspèces végétales Rares et Menacées des sites miniers
Project PI: Gildas GATEBLE (IAC)  / David BRUY 
2019 - 2022
LWILife Without Ice
Project PI: Olivier DANGLES (IRD, UR 072)  / Sophie CAUVY-FRAUNIE (INRAE)  
2020 - 2026
PaleoPARADEPaleozoic Tropical Plants from Ireland and France
Project PI: Anne-Laure DECOMBEIX / J. HARPER Carla (Trinity College Dublin)  
2021 - 2022
PEPINOHistorical genomics of long-term PEople-Palm Interactions in the NeotrOpics
Project PI: Louise BROUSSEAU / Guillaume ODONNE (CNRS, UMSR LEEISA)  
2019 - 2021
SSP-SapindSystematics of South Pacific Sapindaceae
Project PI: Pete LOWRY (UMR ISYEB)  
2009 - 2021
StRONgSaving threatened Rubiaceae and Orchidaceae from mining activities in the Ngovayang Massif Area (Southern Cameroon)
Project PI: Bonaventure SONKE (Université de Yaoundé 1 – LaBosystE)  
2021 - 2023

BELHARRAT Abdelkader 2018 - 2022. Etude taxonomique et conservatoire des Ptéridophytes (fougères et plantes alliées) du Nord-Est Algérien. Ecole doctorale : Toxicologie Industrielle et Environnementale (Algérie) / Université de Bejaïa, Algérie. Dir : BOUGAHAM Abdelazize Franck / Co-dir. : VELA Errol

GUECHI Narimène Ouafa 2016 - 2021. Etudes floristique et ethnobiotique des monts du Hodna : cas du Massif de Maadid (M'Sila , Algérie). Ecole doctorale : Biodiversité et Ressources naturelles / Université de M. Sila, Algérie. Dir : REBBAS Khellaf / Co-dir. : VELA Errol

ZEBAZE Donatien 2016 - 2022. Rôle et importance de la banque de graines du sol dans la régénération des forêts de la région de l’Est Cameroun. Université de Yaoundé I, Cameroun. Dir : SONKE Bonaventure / Co-dir. : DROISSART Vincent

  • Germany : Université de Munich
  • Algéria : ENSA d’Alger ; Universités de Annaba, de Batna, de Béjaia, de M’Sila, de Mostaganem, de Tiaret, Tlemcen
  • Australia : Centre for Mined Land Rehabilitation ; Sustainable Minerals Institute; Université du Queensland
  • Belgique : Institut Royal Sciences Naturelles ; Université Libre de Bruxelles, de Liège
  • Cameroon : Université de Yaoundé I
  • Spain : UICN-Méditerranée (Malaga) ; Université de Zaragosa
  • France : IMBE, univ. Aix-Marseille ; Institut Agronomique néo-Calédonien
  • Irak : Université de Duhok (Kurdistan)
  • Kenya : Kenya Forest Service ; Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute ; Musée national de Nairobi ; Université de Nairobi
  • United Kingdom : Kew Botanical Garden
  • Swenden : Swedish Museum of Natural History
  • Tunisia : INAT Tunis ; Université de Monastir
  • USA : Missouri Botanical Garden ; Université du Kansas

SYSTE - Systématique et biogéographie des végétaux actuels et fossiles

Mots clés
Taxonomie
Botanique
Paléobotanique
Evolution

Nos travaux visent à inventorier la biodiversité végétale actuelle et fossile, à comprendre les processus qui sous-tendent celle-ci et à aider à sa préservation dans la perspective de changements globaux.

Il s’agit (i) de documenter les taxons caractéristiques de zones et de temporalités à fort intérêt écologique ou évolutif, (ii) de définir leurs caractéristiques morpho-anatomiques et écologiques, (iii) d’identifier leur origine biogéographique, et (iv) de rechercher les processus qui sous-tendent la biodiversité végétale actuelle et passée. Pour la flore actuelle, les principales familles étudiées sont les Amaryllidaceae, Asparagaceae, Eriocaulaceae, Lauraceae, Orchidaceae, Piperaceae, Poaceae, Rhizophoraceae, Rubiaceae, Sapindaceae, Sapotaceae, et Urticaceae. Ces travaux essaient d’avoir une approche intégrative, combinant morphologie, anatomie, architecture, phénologie, écologie, répartition, et de s’appuyer sur des méthodes de taxonomie numérique, de biologie moléculaire et de modélisation de niche. La connaissance de l’écologie et de la distribution des taxons permet de prédire les distributions futures en réaction aux changements climatiques en cours. Les travaux sur les plantes fossiles s’intéressent à la fois aux flores pré-angiospermiennes pendant les périodes chaudes de l’histoire de la Terre (Paléozoïque et début du Mésozoïque) et à l'origine des végétations actuelles (Cénozoïque), avec un focus sur des zones géographiques peu échantillonnées.

Le thème s’appuie sur des infrastructures de recherche comme les herbiers (notamment CAY, NOU gérés par AMAP), la collection de paléobotanique de l'Université de Montpellier et le plateau technique histologie (actuelle & fossile) d’AMAP. Les principaux chantiers géographiques sont le pourtour méditerranéen, l’Amérique du Sud, l’Afrique centrale, le Kenya et Madagascar, et la Nouvelle-Calédonie pour les flores actuelles ; l’Afrique du Nord, l’Australie, l’Antarctique et la Nouvelle-Calédonie pour les flores fossiles. Les travaux s’appuient sur l’exploitation de collections préexistantes, des missions de terrain permettant d’acquérir du matériel supplémentaires (expéditions naturalistes, fouilles de gisements fossiles) ou des bases de données d’occurrences d’espèces, provenant éventuellement de sciences participatives (voir par exemple Pl@ntNet).

Acronyme Intitulé Durée
ChroNickLe chrome et le nickel dans les sols de Nouvelle-Calédonie: Influence des forçages environnementaux et humains sur la biodisponibilité et la mobilité vers la ressource en eau
Porteur : Farid JUILLOT   
2019 - 2022
COMALO IILong-term conservation of the most threatened Malagasy orchids
Porteur : Vincent DROISSART 
2020 - 2022
DECAQuelles modalités de récupération post crise Dévonien-Carbonifère ?
Porteur : Anne-Laure DECOMBEIX 
2021 - 2023
ERMinesEspèces végétales Rares et Menacées des sites miniers
Porteurs : Gildas GATEBLE (IAC)  / David BRUY 
2019 - 2022
LWILife Without Ice
Porteurs : Olivier DANGLES (IRD, UR 072)  / Sophie CAUVY-FRAUNIE (INRAE)  
2020 - 2026
PaleoPARADEPaleozoic Tropical Plants from Ireland and France
Porteurs : Anne-Laure DECOMBEIX / J. HARPER Carla (Trinity College Dublin)  
2021 - 2022
PEPINOHistorical genomics of long-term PEople-Palm Interactions in the NeotrOpics
Porteurs : Louise BROUSSEAU / Guillaume ODONNE (CNRS, UMSR LEEISA)  
2019 - 2021
SSP-SapindSystematics of South Pacific Sapindaceae
Porteur : Pete LOWRY (UMR ISYEB)  
2009 - 2021
StRONgSaving threatened Rubiaceae and Orchidaceae from mining activities in the Ngovayang Massif Area (Southern Cameroon)
Porteur : Bonaventure SONKE (Université de Yaoundé 1 – LaBosystE)  
2021 - 2023

BELHARRAT Abdelkader 2018 - 2022. Etude taxonomique et conservatoire des Ptéridophytes (fougères et plantes alliées) du Nord-Est Algérien. Ecole doctorale : Toxicologie Industrielle et Environnementale (Algérie) / Université de Bejaïa, Algérie. Dir : BOUGAHAM Abdelazize Franck / Co-dir. : VELA Errol

GUECHI Narimène Ouafa 2016 - 2021. Etudes floristique et ethnobiotique des monts du Hodna : cas du Massif de Maadid (M'Sila , Algérie). Ecole doctorale : Biodiversité et Ressources naturelles / Université de M. Sila, Algérie. Dir : REBBAS Khellaf / Co-dir. : VELA Errol

ZEBAZE Donatien 2016 - 2022. Rôle et importance de la banque de graines du sol dans la régénération des forêts de la région de l’Est Cameroun. Université de Yaoundé I, Cameroun. Dir : SONKE Bonaventure / Co-dir. : DROISSART Vincent

  • Allemagne : Université de Munich
  • Algérie : ENSA d’Alger ; Universités de Annaba, de Batna, de Béjaia, de M’Sila, de Mostaganem, de Tiaret, Tlemcen
  • Australie : Centre for Mined Land Rehabilitation ; Sustainable Minerals Institute; Université du Queensland
  • Belgique : Institut Royal Sciences Naturelles ; Université Libre de Bruxelles, de Liège
  • Cameroun : Université de Yaoundé I
  • Espagne : UICN-Méditerranée (Malaga) ; Université de Zaragosa
  • France : IMBE, univ. Aix-Marseille ; Institut Agronomique néo-Calédonien
  • Irak : Université de Duhok (Kurdistan)
  • Kenya : Kenya Forest Service ; Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute ; Musée national de Nairobi ; Université de Nairobi
  • Royaume-Uni : Kew Botanical Garden
  • Suède : Swedish Museum of Natural History
  • Tunisie : INAT Tunis ; Université de Monastir
  • USA : Missouri Botanical Garden ; Université du Kansas