ARCHI theme - Diversity and Plasticity of Growth Forms and Architectural Features

Description

Background

The Architectural approach examines the differentiation and organization of axis systems at the scale of the entire plant and during its development. Many studies carried out in the past have made it possible to accumulate a broad knowledge of the mechanisms that establish and organize axes on a wide variety of plants and in many environments (tropical and Mediterranean in particular). Our work on the architectural plasticity of trees and shrubs at the structural (spatial) levels has shown response strategies that may depend on the growth form. Many of these architectural characteristics are modulated by environmental factors and directly influence the ability of plants to persist, migrate or even become invasive. At a finer scale of understanding, the mechanisms of plant construction, the processes of organogenesis and elongation are not all influenced at the same time by environmental factors. It is also interesting to consider cambial reactivation (xylogenesis), because although it is well studied in its relationship to climate, it remains poorly analyzed in terms of primary processes and even less in terms of its expression in the overall architecture of plants and in terms of dynamic mapping and the root-stem organisation.

Objectives

  •  Define the strategies and mechanisms for reiteration involved in the construction, ageing and reactivity of the architectures of the different forms of growth;
  •  The temporal dimension (phenology) of the fundamental processes (elongation, branching, axis thickening) recently addressed in temperate and tropical zones shows very promising capacities of architectural analysis as a key to reading and predicting the interactions between environment and plant structures. Begin to explore these relationships in the root component of plants, which remains a little discussed topic.
  •  Studies in community ecology, biogeography and taxonomy use selected morphological and functional traits to characterize their fitness or competition between organisms as well as assessing phylogenetic relationships between species. How are architectural characters distributed in plant groups? What is the explanatory role of these characteristics and their plasticity in these questions?
  •  The effectiveness of the approaches depends on the relevance of the features selected, which must be both representative of the problem studied and easy to study. Determining the level of architectural responses, global versus specific, according to the factor of the environment considered and the form of growth is a major challenge in analysing and understanding the contribution of architectural features in the ecology of species and communities;
  •  By understanding the ordering of growth and branching processes, we contribute to modelling approaches that take into account the construction and reaction of plant architectures, such as how plant architecture affects plant production and biomass?

Expected Results

  •  Phenotypic diversity and variability: Acquire data on (1) the mechanisms of construction of various growth forms, (2) the genetic variability of architectures, (3) the variability during ontogeny, (4) the modalities and variability of expression of reiteration;
  •  Plasticity: Describe the overall response of different architectures to changes in the environment. How are primary vs. secondary growth priorities managed in response to environmental changes?
  •  Develop stochastic structure-function causal models to simulate interspecific structural variability and relative plasticity related to environmental conditions.
  •  Architectural features: They should be defined according to the plant's organizational levels and the ecological functions concerned. And to adapt this information according to the intended field of application.
  •  Dissemination: Establish and make available practical methods for describing and dating plant architecture. Archive and organize, in databases, information on plant architecture to provide access to the architectural characteristics of each species.

Significant events

  •  Creation of a set of digital educational resources: « Plant growth architecture and production dynamics » (http://greenlab.cirad.fr/GLUVED) ;
  •  Publication of two reference works capitalizing on more than 40 years of research on plant modelling, published by QUAE (Barthélémy et al. 2016, de Reffye et al. 2018). An extended version is available in epub (https://doi.org/10.19182/quae/00001) ;
  •  Philippe de Reffye obtained the gold medal of the Académie Française d'Agriculture (June 2016).

Main funded projects

Acronym Title Duration
IDROPimagerie Intelligente par DRone pour la gestion des écosystèmes forestiers trOPicaux2018 - 2021
PIXIESBordered pits provide a mechanistic understanding of embolism resistance in branch and leaf xylem of tropical rainforest trees from French Guyana2018 - 2019
DIAGARCHI2Outils pour le diagnostic architectural2017 - 2019
TERRETERRE: Training Engineers and Researchers to Rethink geotechnical Engineering for a low carbon future2015 - 2019
DIAGARCHIOutils pour le diagnostic architectural 2015 - 2016

Thèses soutenues

  •  Lehnebach, R. 2015 Study of the ontogenic variability of the sapwood/duramen profile in some tropical forest species in French Guiana. Thesis ED Gaia, University of Montpellier (Dir E. Nicolini, CIRAD Allocation). Become: Post-doctoral fellowship Univ. gent, Belgium ;
  •  Buissart, F. 2015. Modelling the direct and delayed effects of climate change on primary growth and architecture of Mediterranean conifers. Thesis Univ. Aix-Marseille (Co-Director E. Nicolini & M. Vennetier, IRSTEA Research Grant) Become: Medical school.
  •  Millan, M. 2016. Analysis of the variability of architectural features of growth forms in plant communities. Thesis ED Gaia, University of Montpellier (Co-Director C. Edelin & N. Rowe, TAFER Project). Become: Post-doctoral fellowship Univ. Witwatersrand, South Africa
  •  Tondjo, K 2016. Analysis and Modeling of structure-function relationships in teak (Tectona grandis) plantation in Togo. Thesis Univ. Lomé, Togo (Dir T. Fourcaud, CIRAD Research Grant). Become: Univ. teacher-researcher Lomé, Togo

Theses in progress

  •  Levionnois, S. 2016-2019. Plasticity of tree functioning and hydraulic architecture in the face of drought: case study in Guyana's tropical rainforest. Thesis Univ. Guyana (Co-Director E. Nicolini & P. Heuret, LabEx CEBA Research Grant).

Main scientific production (ACL only)

Image Gallery

Thème ARCHI - Diversité et plasticité des formes de croissance et des traits architecturaux

Description

Contexte

L’architecture s’interroge sur la différenciation et l’organisation des systèmes d’axes à l’échelle de la plante entière et au cours de son développement. Les nombreuses études passées ont permis d’accumuler une large connaissance sur les mécanismes de mise en place et d’agencement des axes sur une grande diversité de végétaux et dans de nombreux milieux (tropicaux et méditerranéens notamment). Nos travaux sur la plasticité architecturale menés sur les arbres et les buissons à des niveaux structuraux (spatiaux) ont montré des stratégies de réponse qui pourraient dépendre de la forme de croissance. Beaucoup de ces caractères architecturaux sont modulés par les facteurs de l’environnement et influent directement sur les capacités des végétaux à persister, à migrer voire à devenir invasifs. A une échelle fine de compréhension des mécanismes de construction des végétaux, les processus d’organogénèse et d’allongement ne sont pas impactés au même moment par les facteurs du milieu. Il est de plus intéressant de considérer la réactivation cambiale (xylogénèse), car si elle est bien étudiée dans ses relations au climat, elle reste très peu analysée en regard des processus primaires et encore moins en fonction de son expression dans l’architecture (cartographie dynamique, tige-racine).

Objectifs

  •  Définir les stratégies et les mécanismes de réitération intervenant dans la construction, le vieillissement et la réactivité des architectures des différentes formes de croissance ;
  •  La dimension temporelle (phénologie) des processus fondamentaux (allongement, ramification, épaississement des axes) récemment abordée en zones tempérée et tropicale montre des capacités très prometteuses de l’analyse architecturale comme clé de lecture et de prédiction des interactions milieu/structures végétales. Commencer à explorer ces relations dans la partie racinaire, qui reste un sujet peu abordé ;
  •  Les études en écologie des communautés, en biogéographie et en taxonomie ont recours à l'usage de traits morphologiques et fonctionnels sélectionnés pour caractériser la compétition entre les organismes ou leur fitness, ou pour suivre les relations phylogénétiques entre les espèces. Comment se distribuent les caractères architecturaux dans les groupes végétaux ? Quelle est la part explicative de ces caractères et de leur plasticité dans ces problématiques ?
  •  L'efficacité des démarches dépend de la pertinence des traits retenus qui doivent être à la fois représentatifs du problème étudié et faciles à étudier. Déterminer le niveau des réponses architecturales, globales versus spécifiques, selon le facteur du milieu considéré et selon la forme de croissance est un enjeu fort pour analyser et replacer la contribution de traits architecturaux dans l’écologie des espèces et des communautés ;
  •  Par la connaissance de l’ordonnancement des processus de croissance et de ramification, nous contribuons aux démarches de modélisation prenant en compte la construction et la réaction des architectures végétales. Comment l’architecture végétale intervient-elle dans la production et la biomasse végétales ?

Attendus

  •  Diversité et variabilité phénotypique : Acquérir des données sur (1) les mécanismes de construction de diverses formes de croissance (2) la variabilité génétique des architectures (3) la variabilité aux cours de l’ontogénie, (4) les modalités et la variabilité de l’expression de la réitération ;
  •  Plasticité : Décrire la réponse globale des différentes architectures aux modifications du milieu. De quelle manière sont gérées les priorités de croissance primaire vs. secondaire en réponse aux modifications du milieu ?
  •  Développer des modèles causaux structure-fonction stochastiques permettant de simuler la variabilité structurelle interspécifique ainsi qu’une relative plasticité liée aux conditions environnementales. Comment s’expriment les variabilités ? Et quelles en sont les causes ?
  •  Traits architecturaux : Il convient de les définir en fonction des niveaux d’organisation de la plante et des fonctions écologiques concernées. Et d’adapter ces informations en fonction du domaine d’application visé.
  •  Diffusion : Etablir et mettre à disposition des méthodes pratiques pour décrire et dater les architectures végétales. Archiver et organiser, dans des bases de données, des informations sur l'architecture des plantes pour donner accès aux caractères architecturaux de chaque espèce.

Faits marquants

  •  Création d’un lot de ressources pédagogique numérique : « Plant growth architecture and production dynamics » (http://greenlab.cirad.fr/GLUVED) ;
  •  Sortie de deux ouvrages de référence capitalisant plus de 40 années de recherches sur la modélisation des plantes, édités par QUAE (Barthélémy et al. 2016, de Reffye et al. 2018). Une version étendue est disponible en epub (https://doi.org/10.19182/quae/00001) ;
  •  Obtention de la médaille d’or de l’Académie Française d’Agriculture par Philippe de Reffye (juin 2016).

Projets

Acronyme Intitulé Durée
IDROPimagerie Intelligente par DRone pour la gestion des écosystèmes forestiers trOPicaux2018 - 2021
PIXIESBordered pits provide a mechanistic understanding of embolism resistance in branch and leaf xylem of tropical rainforest trees from French Guyana2018 - 2019
DIAGARCHI2Outils pour le diagnostic architectural2017 - 2019
TERRETERRE: Training Engineers and Researchers to Rethink geotechnical Engineering for a low carbon future2015 - 2019
DIAGARCHIOutils pour le diagnostic architectural 2015 - 2016

Thèses soutenues

  •  Lehnebach, R. 2015 Etude de la variabilité ontogénique du profil d'aubier/duramen chez quelques espèces forestières tropicales de Guyane française. Thèse ED Gaia, Univ. Montpellier (Dir E. Nicolini, Allocation CIRAD).
  •  Buissart, F. 2015. Modélisation des effets directs et retardés du changement climatique sur la croissance primaire et l'architecture des conifères méditerranéens. Thèse Univ. Aix-Marseille (Co-dir E. Nicolini & M. Vennetier, Allocation de recherche IRSTEA)
  •  Millan, M. 2016. Analyse de la variabilité des traits architecturaux des formes de croissance dans les communautés végétales. Thèse ED Gaia, Univ. Montpellier (Co-dir C. Edelin & N. Rowe, Projet TAFER).
  •  Tondjo, K 2016. Analyse et Modélisation des relations structure-fonctions chez le teck (Tectona grandis) de plantation au Togo. Thèse Univ. Lomé, Togo (Dir T. Fourcaud, Allocation de recherche CIRAD).

Thèses en cours

  •  Levionnois, S. 2016-2019. Plasticité du fonctionnement et de l'architecture hydraulique des arbres vis-à-vis de la sécheresse : étude de cas en forêt tropicale humide guyanaise. Thèse Univ. Guyane (Co-dir E. Nicolini & P. Heuret, Allocation de recherche LabEx CEBA).

Publications majeures

Galerie d'images