Theme DyBRES - Dynamics of spatial ecological networks

Context and challenges

Modelling ecosystem dynamics in a heterogeneous and changing environment is a major challenge to address the sustainability of their services and ensure the persistence of endangered species. We investigate species dynamics in fragmented habitats, according to local population dynamics and colonization processes across fragments. The local ecosystems constitute the nodes of a complex ecological network whose edges represent the migration flows.
The major issues are: (1) how to define the nodes and edges of the network in a relevant way, (2) how to characterize the topology of the resulting complex network, (3) how to model species and ecosystem dynamics on the network, and (4) how to assess the impact of these dynamics on species persistence and ecosystem services over the short, medium and long term.

Objectives

We wish to characterize local and regional patterns of biodiversity resulting from species dynamics on their habitat network (direct problem). We will subsequently infer species abilities to colonize habitat fragments and to survive locally from observed occupancy patterns (inverse problem). We will then predict expected biodiversity dynamics on networks undergoing habitat loss and degradation, or altered connectivity. The approach can be applied in a retrospective approach to assess the footprint of past dynamics on current biodiversity patterns, as well as to forecast biodiversity dynamics under future scenarios of environmental changes. This work is expected to provide diagnostic and monitoring indicators tools for the conservation and management of ecological networks.

Approach

The spread of species on spatial networks is addressed through metapopulation and metacommunity models. A contact process of metapopulation dynamics involves a phase transition between regional persistence and regional extinction. Much remains to be done to characterize more precisely the expected spatial patterns of habitat occupancy, and to detect transient dynamics.
Particular attention is paid to the phenomenon of catastrophic change associated with the phase transition to species and ecosystem collapse. Some studies claim that spatial patterns precursor to such transition can be detected and provide early-warning signals, but they are not unambiguous. Moreover, the extinction debt phenomenon (very slow transition toward extinction) is poorly understood and still very important for biological conservation. Our work can contribute to better understand and better evaluate these phenomena.
We will build on modelling frameworks and case studies relevant to test our hypotheses on species dynamics on habitat networks:

  •  Mediterranean temporary ponds: study of the spatial diversity of amphibians and plants forming specialized guilds. Inference of their properties of colonization and survival, depending on their spatial distribution and on the quality of the landscape matrix between the ponds.
  •  Networks of agricultural and natural habitats in South France and Corsica: characterization of the network structure for each habitat types (agricultural areas, meadows, woodlands), and of the connectivity of network nodes. Design of indicators and diagnosis tools of ecological network quality.

The project is based on an interdisciplinary research group (DyBRES), with complementary skills in ecology, mathematics and physics that are required to address the major theoretical and methodological issues.

Expected results

Our work is basically focused on theoretical and conceptual modelling, but also aims to provide applied outcomes (indicators and tools to help network design of protected areas and ecological networks).

Scientific projects

Acronym Title Duration
DISCO-WEEDAssemblage des communautés adventices : entre processus écologiques et perturbations 2016 - 2019
EXPLABIOExplanations in Evolutionary Biology2014 - 2016
CARHABCartographie nationale des habitats2013 - 2016

Major publications

All publications
  • Huth, G., et al., 2014. Correlated percolation models of structured habitat in ecology. Physica A: Statistical Mechanics and its Applications, 416: 290-308. [Editor link]
  • Munoz, F., et al., 2014. How do habitat filtering and niche conservatism affect community composition at different taxonomic resolutions?. Ecology, 95(8): 2179–2191. [Editor link]
  • Munoz, F., et al., 2008. Beta-diversity in spatially implicit neutral models: a new way to assess species migration. The American Naturalist, 172(1): 116-127. [Editor link]
  • Munoz, F., et al., 2007. Spectral analysis of simulated species distribution maps provides insights into metapopulation dynamics.Ecological Modelling, 205: 314-322. [Editor link]
  • Munoz, F., et al., 2007. Estimating parameters of neutral communities: from one Single Large to Several Small samples. Ecology, 88(10): 2482-2488. [Editor link]

Thème DyBRES - Dynamique de la biodiversité de réseaux écologiques spatiaux

Contexte et enjeux

Modéliser la dynamique des écosystèmes dans un environnement hétérogène et fragmenté est un enjeu majeur pour comprendre leur fonctionnement, évaluer leurs services, et garantir la persistance d’espèces menacées. La recherche proposée étudie la dynamique d’espèces occupant des écosystèmes fragmentés dans l’espace, selon des processus de colonisation, de survie et de coexistence locale, et d’extinction. Les écosystèmes locaux sont décrits par les nœuds d’un réseau écologique complexe dont les arêtes représentent des flux d’individus (migration).
Les enjeux sont : (1) définir de manière pertinente les nœuds et arêtes du réseau, (2) modéliser la topologie du réseau complexe obtenu, (3) modéliser les dynamiques écologiques sur le réseau, et (4) évaluer l'incidence des processus de colonisation-extinction à court, moyen et long termes sur l'organisation spatiale de la biodiversité.

Objectifs

Nous souhaitons formuler des attendus concernant l'organisation spatiale de la biodiversité résultant de la dynamique des espèces sur ces réseaux (problème direct). Nous souhaitons par la suite évaluer la capacité de colonisation et de survie des espèces à partir de l’observation de leur capacité actuelle d’occupation de l’habitat (problème inverse). Enfin nous souhaitons prédire le devenir de la biodiversité sur des réseaux subissant des pertes ou des modifications de surface et/ou de connectivité dans l'espace et dans le temps. L'approche peut être appliquée dans une démarche rétrospective, pour évaluer l'empreinte des processus passés sur la diversité actuelle, et dans une démarche prospective, afin de fournir des indicateurs de diagnostic et de suivi pour la conservation des réseaux écologiques.

Approche

La propagation des espèces sur les réseaux spatiaux a déjà été abordée au travers des modèles de métapopulations et de métacommunautés. Le modèle métapopulation est de type processus de contact et implique une transition de phase. Beaucoup reste à faire pour caractériser de manière plus précise les structures spatiales attendues à l’équilibre ainsi que pour caractériser les régimes transitoires.
Une attention particulière est portée au phénomène de changement catastrophique associé à la transition de phase. Certaines études prétendent que les structures spatiales précurseur de ce genre de phénomène peuvent être détectées, mais les attendus ne sont pas assez univoques. Par ailleurs le phénomène de dette d’extinction (transition très lente vers l’extinction) est mal connu et cependant très important pour des problématiques de biologie de la conservation. Nos travaux pourront contribuer à mieux connaître et mieux évaluer la survenue de ces phénomènes.
Nous nous appuierons sur des modèles d’étude permettant de tester nos hypothèses sur les propriétés des espèces et leur capacité de déplacement sur des réseaux d’habitats :

  •  Mares temporaires méditerranéennes : étude de la structure des guildes d’amphibiens et de plantes spécialisées. Inférence de leurs propriétés de colonisation et de survie, en fonction de leur distribution spatiale et de la qualité de la matrice paysagère entre les mares.
  •  Sous-trames agricoles et milieux naturels en Midi-Pyrénées (Parc Naturels Régionaux) et Corse (préparation d’un Schéma Régional de Cohérence Ecologique) : caractérisation du réseau formé par un type d’entité paysagère (milieu agricole, prairies, milieux boisés) et étude de la connectivité des nœuds du réseau. Mise en place d’indicateurs et d’un diagnostic de la qualité du réseau.

Le projet s’appuie sur un ensemble de participants ayant déjà engagé une réflexion collective et collaboré sur le sujet. Il y a une très bonne complémentarité des compétences au sein du groupe. Il s’appuie en outre sur un réseau de chercheurs de divers horizons (écologie, mathématiques, physique) soutenu par le Réseau National des Systèmes Complexes (RNSC). Réseau DyBRES

Résultats attendus

Nos travaux présentent un caractère à la fois très fondamental (modélisation analytique et statistique, simulations) et très appliqué (proposition d’indicateurs et d’outils d’aide à la décision pour la conception de réseaux d’espaces protégés et de trames vertes et bleues). Outre les résultats théoriques nouveaux, nous proposerons des outils d’aide à la décision permettant, à partir de la cartographie d’un réseau écologique et de l’évaluation de propriétés de dispersion des espèces, de quantifier les contraintes exercées par la topologie du réseau sur la survie et la mobilité des espèces.

Projets

Acronyme Intitulé Durée
DISCO-WEEDAssemblage des communautés adventices : entre processus écologiques et perturbations 2016 - 2019
EXPLABIOExplanations in Evolutionary Biology2014 - 2016
CARHABCartographie nationale des habitats2013 - 2016

Publications majeures

Toutes les publications
  • Huth, G., et al., 2014. Correlated percolation models of structured habitat in ecology. Physica A: Statistical Mechanics and its Applications, 416: 290-308. [Lien éditeur]
  • Munoz, F., et al., 2014. How do habitat filtering and niche conservatism affect community composition at different taxonomic resolutions?. Ecology, 95(8): 2179–2191. [Lien éditeur]
  • Munoz, F., et al., 2008. Beta-diversity in spatially implicit neutral models: a new way to assess species migration. The American Naturalist, 172(1): 116-127. [Lien éditeur]
  • Munoz, F., et al., 2007. Spectral analysis of simulated species distribution maps provides insights into metapopulation dynamics.Ecological Modelling, 205: 314-322. [Lien éditeur]
  • Munoz, F., et al., 2007. Estimating parameters of neutral communities: from one Single Large to Several Small samples. Ecology, 88(10): 2482-2488. [Lien éditeur]