Theme I2P - Imaging for Plants and landscaPes

Context

Using numerical images as supports for observations, restitutions and measurements in plant biology and ecology is becoming a common practice with increasing access to systems of numerical image acquisition or to the use of realistic simulation models: microscopy imaging to understand the internal development of wood, aerial images for the study of gaseous exchanges between plants and the atmosphere, 3D reconstruction to understand plant / environment interactions, etc. If the nature and the content of the images depend on the scientific question, their processing to identify and characterize visible homogeneous structures is generic. The automation of these processes enables large-scale analyses to identify trends and invariants.

Scientific objective

The group aims to adapt well-known methods of image processing or image synthesis, or to develop new approaches to plants and landscapes to facilitate the use of numerical contents for applied studies, especially in landscape ecology, plant or complex agro-forestry system diagnosis, the production or calibration of growth models. The group also performs expertise in imaging and provides results and/or dedicated software tools to enable botanists or ecologists to answer their own scientific questions.

Approach

The group promotes automated (or at least auto settable) approaches (of analysis or learning) in image processing or image synthesis. The challenge is to develop new human-operator-independent methods that ensure the reproducibility and the quality of the results according to the evaluated confidence intervals. Concerning image processing, some aspects of a given method may require further clarification according to the nature of the different images and the context in which they are acquired. For example, the group shares its experience in adapting the watershed image processing method to colored cells in microscope preparations or to hyperspectral remote sensing images. Concerning image synthesis, the group develops modeling approaches including both 3D dynamic representation and geometric (or spectral) characterization of the objects of interest (cells, whole plants, landscapes,etc.). The group is open minded, shares knowledge, experience and the tools needed to transpose and adapt efficient methods and algorithms from one application to another. Image processing, geometric modeling and image synthesis are intentionally associated to go beyond simple analysis towards a (computer-aided) diagnosis.

Expected results

  •  Sharing collective competence and experience whatever the nature and the scale of the processed images;
  •  Sharing codes and computer programs to more quickly identify and solve scientific problems; our tools are developed in an open-source environment to facilitate their testing, evaluation and diffusion;
  •  The production of numeric results or/and dedicated software tools in applicative projects involving the group (or some of the members or partners);
  •  The active participation in national or international scientific networks centered on the images.

Scientific projects

Acronym Title Duration
PIR-BCProche Infra Rouge Bas Coût : atelier scientifique Numev sur l’analyse spectrale des plantes2014 - 2015
TAFERApport des traits végétaux pour la compréhension et la visualisation des trajectoires successionnelles des communautés végétales de talus d’infrastructures linéaires de transport 2013 - 2016

Major publications

All publications
  • Borianne, P. ; Subsol, G., 2014. Fast Semi-supervised Segmentation of in Situ Tree Color Images. In : International Conference on Image and Signal Processing, Cherbourg (France), Lecture Notes in Computer Science 8509, Springer, p. 161–172.
  • Viennois, G.; Nicolini E.; Borne, F., 2014. Forest vs Savanna dynamics in the contact zones of French Guiana. Revue Française de Photogrammétrie et de Télédétection 208 [Editor link]
  • Brunel, G.; Borianne, P.; Subsol, G.; Jaeger, M., 2013. Simple-graphs fusion in image mosaic. Application to automated cell files identification in wood slices. In Kämäräinen, J. K., Koskela, M. (Eds). Image analysis : 18th Scandinavian Conference, SCIA 2013, Espoo, Finland, June 17-20, 2013. Proceedings. Berlin : Springer Verlag, p. 34-43 (Lecture notes in computer science).
  • Viennois, G.; Barbier, N.; Fabre, I.; Couteron, P., 2013. Multiresolution quantification of deciduouness in West central African Forest. Biogeosciences, 10(4) : 6957-6967. [Editor link]
  • Jaeger, M.,2012. Enhacing virtual natural scenes using quick and dirty image based recipes. In Kang, M. Z., Dumont, Y., Guo, Y. (Eds). Plant growth modeling, simulation, visualization and applications. Proceedings PMA12 : The Fourth International Symposium on Plant Growth Modeling, Simulation, Visualization and Applications, Shanghai, China, 31 October-3 November 2012. Beijing : IEEE Press, p. 212-219

Image gallery

Thème I2P - Imagerie des Plantes et des Paysages

Contexte et enjeux

Aujourd’hui, l’utilisation de l’image numérique comme support d’observations, de restitutions et de mesures pour les études menées en biologie végétale et en écologie se généralisent du fait de l’accessibilité grandissante aux systèmes de prises de vue ou de l’utilisation de modèles de simulation réalistes : images microscopiques pour la compréhension de la croissance du bois, images aériennes pour l’étude des échanges gazeux entre végétation et atmosphère, reconstructions 3D pour l’appréciation des interactions plantes/environnement, etc. Si le contenu et la nature des images dépendent du questionnement scientifique, leur traitement reste relativement « générique » puisqu’il consiste essentiellement à identifier et à caractériser les structures homogènes visibles. L’automatisation de ces traitements permet d’envisager des analyses de grande envergure pour dégager tendances et invariants.

Objectifs

Adapter à la plante et au paysage des méthodes de traitement et de synthèse d’image, et lorsque nécessaire en développer de nouvelles pour faciliter l’utilisation des contenus numériques pour les études appliquées, notamment en écologie des paysages, diagnostic de la plante ou de systèmes agro-forestiers complexes, calibrage ou production de modèle. Ce groupe fait de l’expertise en imagerie et fournit, dans une certaine mesure, des résultats ou/et des outils logiciels spécialisés aidant biologistes et forestiers à répondre à leurs questions scientifiques.

Approche

Le groupe promeut des approches (de traitement ou d’apprentissage) automatiques (ou tout au moins fortement auto-paramétrables) tant dans ses travaux d’analyse que de synthèse d’images. L’idée est de rendre indépendants des opérateurs humains les processus proposés afin de garantir la reproductibilité et la qualité des résultats tout en maitrisant les intervalles de fiabilité. Coté traitement d’images, il s’agit d’explorer les différents aspects d’une même méthode (et de ses différentes adaptations) en la confrontant à des images d’échelles différentes : par exemple, comment le watershed est-il adapté au traitement d’images hyperspectrales (notamment en imagerie satellitaire) et de fait pourrait-il être utilisé en imagerie multispectrale terrestre. Coté synthèse, le groupe développe des approches de modélisation couvrant à la fois la visualisation 3D dynamique répondant aux besoins grandissants des modèles de simulation de croissance des plantes (et des paysages) et la caractérisation géométrique (et spectrale) des objets d’intérêt (cellule, plante entière, paysage, ...).
Ce groupe travaille dans un esprit ouvert reposant sur la capitalisation et la mutualisation des connaissances, des expertises et des outils en cherchant à transposer ou/et à adapter, d’un contexte d’application à l’autre, des méthodes et des algorithmes efficaces et reconnus. Traitement et synthèse d’images sont volontairement associés montrant ainsi la volonté du groupe d’aller au-delà de la simple analyse et aborder les aspects diagnostic.

Résultats attendus

  •  La généricité de la réflexion et des approches afin de mieux partager les compétences et les méthodes, et ce quelles que soient la nature, l’échelle et la dimension des images traitées.
  •  La mutualisation des développements logiciels afin d’aller plus vite dans l’identification et la mise en œuvre des solutions. Les développements sont réalisés sur des environnements open-source permettant de faciliter les phases de test, d’évaluation et de diffusion (par exemple ImageJ, Orféo ToolBox).
  •  La production de résultats numériques et/ou d’outils logiciels finalisés dans des projets appliqués impliquant l’unité sous des formes adaptées mettant en œuvre une expertise avancée ou les développements méthodologiques du groupe.
  •  La participation active à des réseaux nationaux centrés sur l’image, tant en traitement qu’en synthèse.

Projets

Acronyme Intitulé Durée
CARTODIV-DENDROLIDARReconnaissance spécifique et cartographie des arbres de la canopée en forêt tropicale ET télédétection individu centrée pour l'évaluation de la ressource en bois d'œuvre en Guyane française2017 - 2020
PIR-BCProche Infra Rouge Bas Coût : atelier scientifique Numev sur l’analyse spectrale des plantes2014 - 2015
TAFERApport des traits végétaux pour la compréhension et la visualisation des trajectoires successionnelles des communautés végétales de talus d’infrastructures linéaires de transport 2013 - 2016

Publications majeures

Toutes les publications
  • Borianne, P. ; Subsol, G., 2014. Fast Semi-supervised Segmentation of in Situ Tree Color Images. In : International Conference on Image and Signal Processing, Cherbourg (France), Lecture Notes in Computer Science 8509, Springer, p. 161–172.
  • Viennois, G.; Nicolini E.; Borne, F., 2014. Forest vs Savanna dynamics in the contact zones of French Guiana. Revue Française de Photogrammétrie et de Télédétection 208 [Lien éditeur]
  • Brunel, G.; Borianne, P.; Subsol, G.; Jaeger, M., 2013. Simple-graphs fusion in image mosaic. Application to automated cell files identification in wood slices. In Kämäräinen, J. K., Koskela, M. (Eds). Image analysis : 18th Scandinavian Conference, SCIA 2013, Espoo, Finland, June 17-20, 2013. Proceedings. Berlin : Springer Verlag, p. 34-43 (Lecture notes in computer science).
  • Viennois, G.; Barbier, N.; Fabre, I.; Couteron, P., 2013. Multiresolution quantification of deciduouness in West central African Forest. Biogeosciences, 10(4) : 6957-6967. [Lien éditeur]
  • Jaeger, M.,2012. Enhacing virtual natural scenes using quick and dirty image based recipes. In Kang, M. Z., Dumont, Y., Guo, Y. (Eds). Plant growth modeling, simulation, visualization and applications. Proceedings PMA12 : The Fourth International Symposium on Plant Growth Modeling, Simulation, Visualization and Applications, Shanghai, China, 31 October-3 November 2012. Beijing : IEEE Press, p. 212-219

Galerie d'images