EASE theme - Applied Ecology and Ecosystem Services

Description

Background

In a context of high anthropogenic and climatic pressure on ecosystems and biodiversity, this theme aims to understand and model the processes that maintain or restore a number of target ecosystems, chosen because they play an important role for society through the ecosystem services they provide. The aim is to integrate multi-scale knowledge on the vulnerability and resilience of ecosystems to the effects of human activities and natural hazards. We assess ecosystem services such as soil conservation, carbon sequestration and the conservation of biodiversity in target ecosystems. We focus on how ecosystems respond and regenerate after degradation, and aim to understand the adaptive capacity of an ecosystem to change, depending on its organization, specific composition, structure, and architectural plasticity of the species. We also contribute to the identification of tools and practices to restore a site under high anthropogenic or climatic pressure. The carrying out and success of the work in this theme depends strongly on the study sites and the experiments performed. The researchers involved have extensive field experience and most of the sites have already been studied for several years. However, new pilot sites are being studied. This experimental database also makes it possible to test models for predicting changes in the ecosystems studied.

Objectives

The main objectives are to identify ecosystem services and ecological resilience mechanisms of target ecosystems (mountain forests, coastal forests, subtropical and tropical forests, agroforests) when they are subject to natural (landslides, erosion, invasive plants, etc.) or anthropogenic (fragmentation, conversion, etc.) constraints.

Expected Results

The different approaches used allow us to build hypotheses, models and tools to enable diverse stakeholders (engineers, foresters, agronomists and farmers) to better manage, rebuild or restore fragile or vulnerable environments.

Significant events

  •  A. Stokes co-organizer of the world congress "EcoSummit2016: Ecological Sustainability - Engineering Change" in Montpellier, which brought together more than 1400 participants from 88 countries and more than 600 posters and 750 oral presentations through workshops, round tables and 93 sessions, including 9 sessions organized by UMR AMAP members;
  •  A. Erktan editor of a special issue of Plant and Soil: Erktan, A., McCormack, M.L. & Roumet, C. 2018. Frontiers in root ecology: recent advances and future challenges. Plant Soil 424: 1 ;
  •  Organisation of sessions in conferences: Managing ecosystem services in mountain forests (A. Stokes et Z. Mao, IUFRO Regional Congress for Asia and Oceania 2016, China 2016) ; Natural hazards and disturbance interactions in mountain forests (A. Stokes, IUFRO Anniversary Congress, Germany 2017) ; Measuring and monitoring carbon stocks and ecosystem services in degraded forests under climate change (A. Stokes, Adaptive Management for Forested Landscapes in Transformation, 2018, Argentina) ;
  •  A. Stokes, Chevalier in the Order of Agricultural Merit, 2018.

Main funded projects

Acronym Title Duration
GUYAPATUR IIGuyapatur II2020 - 2021
CHRONICKLe chrome et le nickel dans les sols de Nouvelle-Calédonie: Influence des forçages environnementaux et humains sur la biodisponibilité et la mobilité vers la ressource en eau2019 - 2022
ECOPICSBelowground ecosystem services in plant communities along elevational gradients in France and Mexico2017 - 2021
STEMSpatial and temporal dynamics in mangrove carbon pools2016 - 2016
TERRETERRE: Training Engineers and Researchers to Rethink geotechnical Engineering for a low carbon future2015 - 2019
MANGCOCMANGrove : COnnectivité par les Courants en Indonésie2015 - 2015
INDESOMangrove & Integrated Coastal Zone Management Application2013 - 2017
TAFERApport des traits végétaux pour la compréhension et la visualisation des trajectoires successionnelles des communautés végétales de talus d'infrastructures linéaires de transport 2013 - 2016

Thèses soutenues

  •  Dias S. 2019. Hydrology and mechanics of vegetated volcanic slopes. Thèse ED GAIA, Univ. Montpellier & Univ. Naples. 216 pp. (Co-Dir A. Stokes & G. Urcioli, H2020 ITN TERRE). Currently: Post-doc, Univ. Durham, UK.
  •  Demenois, J., 2017. What influence do mycorrhizal symbioses and root traits have on tropical soil erosion? Application to the ecological restoration of degraded forest ecosystems in New Caledonia on Ferralsols developed on ultramafic substrates. Thesis ED GAIA, AgroParisTech. 232 pp. (Co-Director A. Stokes & F. Rey, FCPR). Currently: CIRAD Researcher, Montpellier.
  •  Mohamed, A., 2016. Relationship between phenology of underground and aerial growth of hybrid walnut trees in temperate agroforestry systems. Thesis ED GAIA, University of Montpellier. 190 pp. (Dir A. Stokes, Kurdish Institute, Paris) Currently: ATER, Univ. Angers.
  •  Nespoulous, J., 2016. Influence of natural and plantation forests on subsurface flows and soil erodibility in tropical China. Thesis ED GAIA, University of Montpellier. (Co-Director A. Stokes & R.C. Sidle, INRA). Currently: CDI Project Manager, Valorhiz Company, Montpellier
  •  Rahmania, R. 2016. Mangrove study based on the analysis of changes in canopy images at very high spatial resolution for better management of the Indonesian coasts. Thesis ED Gaia, Univ. Montpellier. 124 pp. (Dir C. Proisy, INDESO project). Currently: an official of the Ministry of Fisheries, Indonesia.

Theses in progress

  •  Zhang G. 2018 – 2022. Linking structual traits, non-structural carbohydrates and tree ecological strategies in different climates. ED GAIA, Univ. Montpellier (Co-dir. A. Stokes, P. Maillard, INRA Nancy)
  •  Cosme M. 2018 - 2021. Discrete model of spatialized agroecosystems. ED GAIA, Montpellier University (Dir C. Gaucherel)
  •  Conde Salazar R. 2017 - 2020. Towards an ontological approach for the management of databases in agroforestry. ED I2S, Univ. Montpellier (Co-Director A. Stokes, I. Mougenot, UMR ESPACE-Dev)
  •  Hernandez D. 2017 - 2021. Determine the interactions between climate, plants and soil microbial communities. ED GAIA, University of Montpellier (Co-Director A. Stokes, G. Angeles, INECOL, Mexico)
  •  Rossi L. 2016 – 2019. Carbon sequestration in soil along road embankments. ED Gaia, Univ. Montpellier (Co-dir A. Stokes, G. Russo, Univ. Cassino, Italy)

Main scientific production (ACL only)

Image Gallery

Thème EASE - Ecologie appliquée et services écosystémiques

Description

Contexte

Dans un contexte de forte pression anthropique et climatique sur les écosystèmes et la biodiversité, ce thème vise à comprendre et à modéliser les processus assurant le maintien ou la reconstitution d’un nombre d’écosystèmes-cibles, choisis parce qu’ils jouent un rôle important pour la société au travers des services écosystémiques qu’ils fournissent. Il s’agit d’intégrer des connaissances multi-échelles sur la vulnérabilité et la résilience des écosystèmes face aux effets des activités humaines et des aléas climatiques. Nous évaluons les services écosystémiques tels que la conservation des sols, la séquestration du carbone, la biodiversité dans les écosystèmes-ciblés, la régénération naturelle après dégradation, pour fournir des informations sur la capacité d'adaptation d’un écosystème aux changements suivant son organisation, sa composition spécifique, sa structure, et la plasticité architecturale des espèces qui le composent. Nous contribuons également à l’identification d’outils et de pratiques permettant de restaurer un site soumis à une forte pression anthropique ou climatique. La réalisation et la réussite des travaux réalisés dans ce thème dépendent fortement des sites d’études et des expérimentations qui y sont menées. Les chercheurs impliqués ont une grande expérience des terrains et la plupart des sites sont déjà étudiés depuis plusieurs années. De nouveaux sites pilotes sont toutefois étudiés. Cette base expérimentale permet aussi de tester des modèles de prédiction des changements dans les écosystèmes étudiés.

Objectifs

Les objectifs principaux sont d'identifier les services écosystémiques et les mécanismes de résilience écologique d’écosystèmes-cibles (forêts de montagne, forêts côtières, forêts subtropicales et tropicales, agro-forêts) quand ils sont soumis à des contraintes naturelles (glissement de pentes, érosion, plantes invasives, etc.) ou anthropiques (fragmentation, conversion, etc.).

Attendus

Les différentes approches utilisées nous permettent de construire des hypothèses, des modèles, et des outils pour permettre, in fine, aux différents acteurs (ingénieurs, forestiers, agronomes, agriculteurs) de mieux gérer, reconstruire ou restaurer des environnements fragiles ou vulnérables.

Faits marquants

  •  A. Stokes co-organisatrice du congrès mondial “EcoSummit2016: Ecological Sustainability - Engineering Change” à Montpellier, qui a réuni plus de 1400 participants provenant de 88 pays et plus de 600 posters et 750 présentations orales à travers des ateliers de travail, des tables-rondes et 93 sessions, dont 9 sessions ont été organisés par les membres de l'UMR AMAP ;
  •  A. Erktan éditrice d’un numéro spécial de Plant and Soil : Erktan, A., McCormack, M.L. & Roumet, C. 2018. Frontiers in root ecology: recent advances and future challenges. Plant Soil 424: 1 ;
  •  Organisation des sessions lors de congrés : Managing ecosystem services in mountain forests (A. Stokes et Z. Mao, IUFRO Regional Congress for Asia and Oceania 2016, China 2016) ; Natural hazards and disturbance interactions in mountain forests (A. Stokes, IUFRO Anniversary Congress, Allemagne 2017) ; Measuring and monitoring carbon stocks and ecosystem services in degraded forests under climate change (A. Stokes, Adaptive Management for Forested Landscapes in Transformation, 2018, Argentina) ;
  •  A. Stokes, Chevalier dans l'Ordre du Mérite Agricole, 2018.

Projets

Acronyme Intitulé Durée
GUYAPATUR IIGuyapatur II2020 - 2021
CHRONICKLe chrome et le nickel dans les sols de Nouvelle-Calédonie: Influence des forçages environnementaux et humains sur la biodisponibilité et la mobilité vers la ressource en eau2019 - 2022
ECOPICSBelowground ecosystem services in plant communities along elevational gradients in France and Mexico2017 - 2021
STEMSpatial and temporal dynamics in mangrove carbon pools2016 - 2016
TERRETERRE: Training Engineers and Researchers to Rethink geotechnical Engineering for a low carbon future2015 - 2019
MANGCOCMANGrove : COnnectivité par les Courants en Indonésie2015 - 2015
INDESOMangrove & Integrated Coastal Zone Management Application2013 - 2017
TAFERApport des traits végétaux pour la compréhension et la visualisation des trajectoires successionnelles des communautés végétales de talus d'infrastructures linéaires de transport 2013 - 2016

Thèses soutenues

  •  Dias S. 2019. Hydrology and mechanics of vegetated volcanic slopes. Thèse ED GAIA, Univ. Montpellier & Univ. Naples. 216 pp. (Co-Dir A. Stokes & G. Urcioli, H2020 ITN TERRE).
  •  Demenois, J., 2017. Quelle influence des symbioses mycorhiziennes et des traits racinaires sur l'érosion des sols tropicaux ? Application à la restauration écologique des écosystèmes forestiers dégradés de Nouvelle-Calédonie sur Ferralsols developpés sur substrats ultramafiques. Thèse ED GAIA, AgroParisTech. 232 pp. (Co-Dir A. Stokes & F. Rey, FCPR).
  •  Mohamed, A., 2016. Relations entre phénologie de la croissance souterraine et aérienne de noyers hybrides en systèmes agroforestiers tempérés. Thèse ED GAIA, Univ. Montpellier. 190 pp. (Dir A. Stokes, Institute Kurde, Paris).
  •  Nespoulous, J., 2016. Influence des forêts naturelles et de plantation sur les écoulements de subsurface et l'érodibilité du sol en Chine tropicale. Thèse ED GAIA, Univ. Montpellier. (Co-Dir A. Stokes & R.C. Sidle, INRA).
  •  Rahmania, R. 2016. Etude des mangroves à partir de l'analyse des changements dans les images de canopée à très haute résolution spatiale pour une meilleure gestion des côtes indonésiennes. Thèse ED Gaia, Univ. Montpellier. 124 pp. (Dir C. Proisy, projet INDESO).

Thèses en cours

  •  Zhang G. 2018 – 2022. Linking structual traits, non-structural carbohydrates and tree ecological strategies in different climates. ED GAIA, Univ. Montpellier (Co-dir. A. Stokes, P. Maillard, INRA Nancy)
  •  Cosme M. 2018 – 2021. Modèle discret d'agroécosystèmes spatialisés. ED GAIA, Univ. Montpellier (Dir C. Gaucherel)
  •  Conde Salazar R. 2017 – 2020. Vers une démarche ontologique pour la gestion des bases de données en agroforesterie. ED I2S, Univ. Montpellier (Co-dir. A. Stokes, I. Mougenot, UMR ESPACE-Dev)
  •  Hernandez D. 2017 – 2021. Démêler les interactions entre le climat, les plantes et les communautés microbiennes du sol. ED GAIA, University Montpellier (Co-dir. A. Stokes, G. Angeles, INECOL, Mexico)
  •  Rossi L. 2016 – 2019. Carbon sequestration in soil along road embankments. ED Gaia, Univ. Montpellier (Co-dir A. Stokes, G. Russo, Univ. Cassino, Italy)

Publications majeures

Galerie d'images