GRAD theme - Vegetation communities and environmental gradients

Description

Background

Studies along environmental gradients are relevant tools for understanding the organization and dynamics of plant communities. These gradients can be structured in space (stress, disturbance gradients) and/or time (ecological successions). Target variables to be studied along these gradients include taxonomic and functional diversity at the interspecific level, but also intraspecific functional diversity. In terms of study sites, the "Tropical High Andes" project is testing the importance of plant-plant interactions along a variety of environmental stresses such as aridity, anoxia and cold. In the Mediterranean context, we are also interested in the dynamics of plant communities after disturbance in the context of road infrastructures. We also want to determine how the growth cycles of the aerial and underground organs of trees and herbaceous plants are modified along an altitudinal gradient in the French Alps. We seek to identify the (micro)climatic factors that govern root growth (intra- and interannual) in montane and mixed subalpine forests. In Central Africa, we are examining the influence of climatic, soil, and disturbance gradients on the structure and composition of tree communities. In West Africa, anthropogenic disturbance gradients are used to characterize the vulnerability of so-called "useful" biodiversity to human impacts.

Objectives

To build a synergy between different geographical sites (Alps, Andes, Central Africa, Mediterranean basin) using a common methodology (study along environmental gradients) to discuss the theoretical basis of plant community ecology.

Expected Results

  •  Refinement of the stress gradient hypothesis, which predicts changing interactions between plants along environmental gradients, taking into account in particular the effects of herbivory and plant architecture;
  •  In the context of ecological successions, evaluate variations in functional strategies with particular attention to the role of intraspecific variability in ecophysiological and architectural traits;
  •  Evaluate the effects of the variation in disturbance frequencies in systems under high anthropogenic pressure (pastures, tropical forests, road infrastructure, etc.);
  •  Characterize the processes that govern tree growth along altitudinal gradients, through a growth model based on the assumption that tree growth is governed by sink activity (meristems) and not source activity (photosynthesis).

Significant events

  •  F. Anthelme organized the kick-off meeting of the LMI BIO-INCA in Bogota, Colombia, as well as a conference on Andean high-altitude ecosystems (IPBES side event 2018);
  •  F. Anthelme co-edited in 2018 the special issue Alpine and arctic plant communities: a worldwide perspective in the journal Perspectives in Plant Ecology Evolution and Dynamics (14 contributions) ;
  •  F. Anthelme organized the symposium A worldwide perspective on the bidirectional interactions between plant communities and global change in alpine-arctic regions, during the annual congress of the Ecological Society of America (ESA, Portland, USA 2017);
  •  F. Anthelme co-organized the High elevation ecosystems symposium at the Ecosummit conference in Montpellier in 2016.

Main funded projects

Acronym Title Duration
FUNBIOMEPlant FUNctional BIOgeography in the MEditerranean2017 - 2019
ECOPICSBelowground ecosystem services in plant communities along elevational gradients in France and Mexico2017 - 2021
DISCO-WEEDAssemblage des communautés adventices : entre processus écologiques et perturbations anthropiques2016 - 2019
FUN-BROMAre bromeliad roots absorptive? A preliminary study on fungal association in bromeliads2015 - 2016
BIO-THAWModeling BIOdiversity and land use interactions under changing glacial water availability in Tropical High Andean Wetlands2013 - 2017
TAFERApport des traits végétaux pour la compréhension et la visualisation des trajectoires successionnelles des communautés végétales de talus d'infrastructures linéaires de transport 2013 - 2016

Theses defended

  •  Bouchet, D. 2016. Ecological succession and mowing influence in roadside plant communities in the French Mediterranean region. Thesis ED Gaia, U. Montpellier. 200 pp. (Co-Director P.-O. Cheptou & F. Munoz, CDD TAFER project). Become a naturalist researcher at Naturae.
  •  Danet, A. 2017. Plant interactions in a community context: an experimental approach in Spain and Bolivia. Thesis ED Gaia, U. Montpellier. 179 pp. (Dir F. Anthelme, ED GAIA Grant, CDD BIO-THAW project). Become: Post-doctoral student modelling ecological systems in Paris.

Theses in progress

  •  Cruz-Maldonado, N. 2017-2020. Plant community responses to climatic change in tropical and temperate alpine regions: plant traits approach. Gaia, U. Montpellier (Dir F. Anthelme ; bourse CONACYT, Mexique)
  •  Hernandez-Caceres, D. 2018-2021. Taxonomic and functional microbial diversity along an altitudinal gradient: effect of plant species and root exudates. ED Gaia, U. Montpellier (Co-dir A. Stokes & G. Angeles, INECOL, Mexico ; bourse CONACYT, Mexique)

HDR

  •  Munoz, F. 2015. Biodiversity dynamics, from communities to biogeographic processes: theoretical and empirical approaches. Brief by HDR, ED Gaia, Univ. Montpellier, 55 p.

Thème GRAD - Communautés végétales et gradients environnementaux

Description

Contexte

Les études le long de gradients environnementaux sont des outils pertinents pour comprendre l'organisation et la dynamique des communautés végétales. Ces gradients peuvent être structurés dans l’espace (gradients de stress, de perturbation) et/ou dans le temps (successions écologiques). Ces processus concernent la diversité taxonomique et fonctionnelle au niveau interspécifique, mais aussi la diversité fonctionnelle intraspécifique. En termes de sites d’étude, le chantier « Hautes Andes tropicales » teste l’importance des interactions entre plantes le long d’une variété de stress environnementaux tels que l’aridité, l’anoxie et le froid. Dans le contexte méditerranéen, nous nous intéressons également à la dynamique des communautés végétales après perturbation dans le contexte des infrastructures routières. Nous souhaitons également déterminer comment les cycles de croissance des organes aériens et souterrains des arbres et des plantes herbacées sont modifiés le long d’un gradient altitudinal dans les Alpes françaises. Nous cherchons à identifier les facteurs (micro)climatiques qui gouvernent la croissance racinaire (intra- et interannuelle) en forêts montagnardes et subalpines mixtes. En Afrique centrale, nous examinons l’influence des gradients climatiques, pédologiques, et de perturbation sur la structure et la composition des communautés arborées. En Afrique occidentale, des gradients de perturbation anthropiques sont utilisés pour caractériser la vulnérabilité de la biodiversité dite « utile » à l’homme.

Objectifs

Construire une synergie entre différents chantiers géographiques (Alpes, Andes, Afrique Centrale, milieu méditerranéen) en utilisant une méthodologie commune (étude le long de gradients environnementaux) pour discuter la base théorique de l’écologie des communautés végétales.

Attendus

  •  Revisiter la stress-gradient hypothesis sur la base des interactions entre plantes le long de gradients environnementaux prenant en compte notamment des effets de l’herbivorie et de l’architecture des plantes ;
  •  Dans le cadre des successions écologiques, évaluer les variations de stratégies fonctionnelles avec une prise en compte particulière du rôle de la variation intraspécifique des traits écophysiologiques et architecturaux ;
  •  Evaluer l’effet de la variation de fréquences de perturbations dans des systèmes subissant une pression anthropique élevée (pâturages, forêts tropicales, infrastructures routières…) ;
  •  Mieux comprendre les processus qui gouvernent la croissance des arbres le long des gradients altitudinaux, à travers un modèle de croissance basé sur l’hypothèse que la croissance des arbres est gouvernée par l’activité des puits (méristèmes) et non des sources (photosynthèse).

Faits marquants

  •  F. Anthelme a organisé le kick-off meeting du LMI BIO-INCA à Bogota en Colombie ainsi qu’une conférence sur les écosystèmes de haute altitude andins (side event de l'IPBES 2018) ;
  •  F. Anthelme co-editeur en 2018 d'un numéro spécial Alpine and arctic plant communities: a worldwide perspective de la revue Perspectives in Plant Ecology Evolution and Dynamics (14 articles) ;
  •  F. Anthelme a organisé le symposium A worldwide perspective on the bidirectional interactions between plant communities and global change in alpine-arctic regions, lors du congrés annuel de l'Ecological Society of America à Portland en 2017 ;
  •  F. Anthelme a co-organisé le symposium high elevation ecosystems lors de la conférence Ecosummit à Montpellier en 2016.

Projets

Acronyme Intitulé Durée
FUNBIOMEPlant FUNctional BIOgeography in the MEditerranean2017 - 2019
ECOPICSBelowground ecosystem services in plant communities along elevational gradients in France and Mexico2017 - 2021
DISCO-WEEDAssemblage des communautés adventices : entre processus écologiques et perturbations anthropiques2016 - 2019
FUN-BROMAre bromeliad roots absorptive? A preliminary study on fungal association in bromeliads2015 - 2016
BIO-THAWModeling BIOdiversity and land use interactions under changing glacial water availability in Tropical High Andean Wetlands2013 - 2017
TAFERApport des traits végétaux pour la compréhension et la visualisation des trajectoires successionnelles des communautés végétales de talus d'infrastructures linéaires de transport 2013 - 2016

Thèses soutenues

  •  Bouchet, D. 2016. Succession écologique et influence de la fauche dans des communautés végétales de talus routiers en région méditerranéenne française. Thèse ED Gaia, U. Montpellier. 200 pp. (Co-dir P.-O. Cheptou & F. Munoz, CDD projet TAFER).
  •  Danet, A. 2017. Interactions entre plantes dans un contexte de communauté : une approche expérimentale en Espagne et en Bolivie. Thèse ED Gaia, U. Montpellier. 179 pp. (Dir F. Anthelme, Bourse ED GAIA, CDD projet BIO-THAW).

Thèses en cours

  •  Cruz-Maldonado, N. 2017-2020. Plant community responses to climatic change in tropical and temperate alpine regions: plant traits approach. Gaia, U. Montpellier (Dir F. Anthelme ; bourse CONACYT, Mexique)
  •  Hernandez-Caceres, D. 2018-2021. Taxonomic and functional microbial diversity along an altitudinal gradient: effect of plant species and root exudates. ED Gaia, U. Montpellier (Co-dir A. Stokes & G. Angeles, INECOL, Mexico ; bourse CONACYT, Mexique)

HDR soutenue

  •  Munoz, F. 2015. Dynamique de la biodiversité, des communautés aux processus biogéographiques : approches théoriques et empiriques. Mémoire de HDR, ED Gaia, Univ. Montpellier, 55 p.